Know your place

A student came to me with an alignment issue I did not know how to respond to. It was an issue of body awareness as well as muscular holding and/or weakness, with perhaps a dash of structural (skeletal) misalignment. It was such a big discovery of imbalance that I didn’t know where to start.

Donna Farhi, in her book Teaching Yoga, talks about the various archetypes of the yoga teacher (as seen by the student): as Healer, Priest, Parent, and Lover.

In response to this question I had volunteered myself for the role of Healer. My first reaction was to “fix” this person and was upset with myself that I didn’t have an answer. Fixing is not my job. And it is arrogant and irresponsible of me to take it on.

0 Responses to “Know your place”



  1. Leave a Comment

How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

Topics

Tweets


