Dear Diary

Coming back to my blog after a break feels like it used to when I’d stray from my diary. There I’d be, after weeks, “Dear Diary. I’m sorry it’s been so long.”

Then I’d recap everything that had happened to account for my absence.

No recap here. In fact, things have been quite un-notable. My ass still hurts, still busy, family stuff, yoga yoga yoga. Nothing major in any one of the life categories.

This could very well be a good thing–however, it is feeling more monotonous than dependable.

Last week in Madeleine’s wonderful class, three people around me were snoring in savasana. (Or at least there were three distinct snore sounds.)

It reminded me that, in general, we are really good at highs and lows, extremes (we are also really tired). Either busy and buzzing or snoring. We forget the beauty of the Middle Way. I’ve been noticing this in myself–either engaged bordering on agitated or bored and nodding off.

My movement is toward engaged and relaxed, present and calm… what the Buddha called Awake.

Cut to======>

Dear Diary,

Sorry it’s been so long. Things have been perfectly, exquisitely ordinary. Today I am present and soft and paying attention.

 

2 Responses to “Dear Diary”


  1. 1 Tami November 19, 2009 at 5:08 am

    I have so much to say and yet, nothing because life is still busy, work is still busy and homework is keeping me busy. Although I had a realization that even though I am really “busy” I still need to carve out time to connect to friends. If I wait until I’m no longer “busy” I’ll probably be dead.

    So this week I made walking dates with a couple girl friends. I caught up with them and got some cardio in at the same time.

    Wanna go on a walk?


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

Topics

Tweets


