Zombies

Two nights in a row I’ve had dreams about zombies. They have strange, hazy eyes (that’s how you know they’re already zombie-fied), and they want me to join them. In last night’s flick, R come home with those hazy eyes and wanted a drop of my blood, which would, of course, zombify me too. I was resistant, angry, and afraid in a confused kind of way. I got a knife and took it to bed with me with the intention of stabbing him. He’s been a little needy this week, so my initial interpretation was related to that… but then my better judgment suggested that I do the voices.

Me:
I don’t want to give myself over to something I don’t understand.
I don’t want to lose control of being myself. 
They seem cultish and boring.
I will fight to keep my identity, autonomy, and freedom.

Zombies:
Join us.
Surrender.
It’s ok.

While this could all seem very brainwashy, oddly it makes sense with a thought I had the other night about the wild geese.  On my walk to the massage office, a flock flew over. I could hear their “harsh cries,” could almost feel their urgency and determination in my body. Again, my eyes welled, I stopped in my tracks. What is it about this, I wondered?

Here’s the answer that came: It’s that they give themselves so fully to the plight. They have no self-interest. They risk their lives to make this journey and dedicate themselves completely to the flock.

It brings me to my knees. That’s what I want. Service, not self-interest. Devotion, not pride.

Those fucking zombies are here to take me there. My breath quickens just thinking of it. I only hope I can make the trip.

2 Responses to “Zombies”


  1. 1 journey4yogis November 23, 2009 at 6:15 am

    Damn Michelle . . . I read the Dalai Lama post first. They’re the same. It’s the precipice of an amazing revelation – the point between Knowing it and Being it; you have the courage.

    I honor your honesty and openness.

    -E

  2. 2 blogasana November 23, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    Damn is right, Erin! Your words and tenderness bring tears to my eyes. (oh my god, it’s working…) Thank you, sweet one.


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

Topics

Tweets


