A letter to myself

At Madeleine’s wonderful workshop on how to manage stress during the holidays, she invited us to write a letter to ourselves, which she would eventually send to us in the mail.

Just weeks after writing that letter, today I received it as though I’d never seen it before. It went something like this:

Oh look, a card from Madeleine. How fun!

<opened envelope excitedly>

Huh… it doesn’t look like a Christmas card.

<opened card and began to read>

Dear Michelle,

I hope you are getting rest — remember, if you want to be asleep by 10, you have to be in bed by 9:30 (9 is even better!).

Oh, how sweet. She must have written it after my kidney stone. And she’s so specific and practical!

Slow down — not everything will get done, but what is meant to get done will.

Ah, so true. Again, the voice of wisdom! Gee, she really is being direct here.

Remember, nothing is as important as your family…

Wait a minute… this is vaguely familiar… haven’t I seen this writing before?

The moment I realized that this card was from me, written by me, my inner curmudgeon said…

Ooooh, that’s just YOU talking. Nevermind…


And yet, here’s this completely sensitive and trusting part of myself yearning to heard, to be taken seriously.

I think what I want is other people’s love and approval, but what I’m getting is that I really crave my own.

In a tender moment, just weeks ago, one part of myself wrote to another,

You are wonderful and you are doing a great job.

love, hug, kisses…

2 Responses to “A letter to myself”


  1. 1 Teacher Goes Back to School December 12, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    I, too, was thinking about how sweet it was for Auntie Mads to be sending me a card….

    You are wonderful and you are doing a great job!

    Don’t I always tell you that?


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

Topics

Tweets


