A list among the many

Here at the symbolic beginning-of-the-year opportunity to reflect, reconsider, and realign for 2010, what goes through my mind is less what I’m going to do more of, and more what I’m going to do less of.

As the unnecessary falls away, I believe that I’ll naturally have more space for the things that nourish me. Or, better yet, that time will remain “empty” and I won’t know what to do. That sounds like a place of discovery.

Some of the things that are going?

1. Constant email. My experiment will be to check email 3 times a day and otherwise close the application. I think this will be reasonable, even for the business if I get back to folks by day’s end.

2. Facebook. No more “checking what my friends are doing” multiple times a day. Once only. Ok, maybe twice.

3. Working more than 8 hours a day. Including teaching! This may mean delegating and letting things go.

4. Self criticism. This is a hard one. These thoughts/words can become so woven into the fabric of inner dialog that they are difficult to identify, let alone unthread. But I am ready to watch them.

The threshold of the New Year has never really been a “now or never” time of hard-line resolutions for me. Maybe because my birthday is shortly after, or maybe because winter is the middle of the inward season and it feels a little rushed to jump into seeding the garden already. Either way, these ideas will continue to evolve and shape. “Nothing is ever the beginning. Nothing is ever the end.”

2 Responses to “A list among the many”


  1. 1 Teacher Goes Back to School January 2, 2010 at 6:45 am

    Let’s hear it for more self-care!
    Less work!
    More hugs!


  1. 1 Doing less with a full heart « Blogasana's Blog Trackback on January 7, 2010 at 6:36 am

How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Topics

Tweets


