Self Care Saturday

Because I’ve been talking about self care since my October Cure Challenge. And it’s my Word for the Year. And it helps to have some accountability. Each Saturday will share my latest self care indulgence—a recipe, a practice, an indulgence, a ritual… who knows! I’d love to hear about your favs too. Let’s take care of ourselves first so we can take care of each other better.

*

This one’s for the girls—apologies to my thousands of male readers.

***

One of the best parts of this last week: getting my period.

This is never the best part of anything.

The first couple of days of my cycle are filled with cramping, stomach upset, bloating, headache, and fatigue.

I am the poster girl for Midol.

And usually, given that I teach or do Thai at least every other day, I am working in some capacity during that fun-filled time.

Not this month!

One of my commitments to myself was that I would spend the full first day of my period in bed.

So, equipped with magazines and books, my journal, computer and phone, candles, tea, and a heating pad, I canceled a lunch date and basically didn’t leave the bedroom all day.

It rocked.

Why don’t I honor this day, this cycle, this process more often by resting rather than pushing, quieting rather than complaining, noticing rather than ignoring?

How do you honor your body and its cycles?

5 Responses to “Self Care Saturday”


  1. 1 Prexus Swyftwynd February 7, 2010 at 1:56 am

    This is great and I’m happy you found a way to honour your cycle! Although I can’t answer your question due to my lack of a menstruating uterus, what I can say is that women should definitely take time to respond to their own body’s needs. I find that a lot of my girl-friends when they have their periods complain of the massive cravings for chocolate or their particular type of foods. When I offer it to them or ask them why they don’t have one, they’ll complain that it is going to make them fat. I always say that they should just spoil themselves, don’t worry about the extra chocolate bar or meals you have, because your body wants it (and maybe even NEEDS it!). Every once in a while, succumb to the craving or the need just to curl up in bed and do nothing. After all, this is something that happens a few days of every month, so why not just spoil yourself and try to forget about the pain, discomfort and craving but satisfying yourself?

    Cheers!

  2. 2 Kelley February 7, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    OoooOooo….I so love this post Michelle. So, you know my periods have been so horrible lately too what with cysts and all. Every month for the past 3-4 cycles I’ve pushed myself and when pushing isn’t possible I stay home from work and feel guilty about it. That’s so lame and so last year before my year of “less is more” started. Yeah, it’s kinda of like Self-Care but under a different title. So, thank you for this post and for ensuring me that I wasn’t the only one out there with these issues to deal with. I think I’ll schedule a period day for the next 11 months and relax into it sans guilt.

    • 3 blogasana February 7, 2010 at 6:31 pm

      We’ll keep each other honest, Kelley. I totally need to be accountable or else I’ll do the “oh it’s not that important” martyr whine. I’m sorry about your stuff with the cysts… maybe it’s the **wake up and listen** that you needed. The body is so not subtle. Lots of love and happy guiltless care for ourselves!!

  3. 4 Tami February 9, 2010 at 5:01 am

    Two words: Pajama Day.

    I wish it would coincide with the lady cycle, however sometimes a girl just has to stay under the covers. Mary said so.


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Topics

Tweets


