Love Cake

The tradition for Bubby’s birthday is as follows:

I pretend that I’m not going to make the same German Chocolate Cake that I make every year while he impatiently whines and tries to catch me making it so he can eat cake batter.

We LOVE this cake. It is THE BEST cake you’ve ever had times ten.

Every year we savor the bites, sneak in for slivers, try to make the final morsels last forever.

Every year Bubby says this is the best one you’ve ever made.

And, of course, he wants to know why I don’t make it more often.

But it’s a tradition. And “you don’t monkey with tradition.” Or so they said in Mystic Pizza.

We wait all year for this cake. If I made it for every special occasion it would lose it’s significance.

And it’s made with love.

My friend Traci, an Ayurvedic practitioner, says that you could eat a salad that someone made when he was angry, or you could eat a cupcake made with joy and love, and the cupcake would be better for you. This idea fascinates me.

So I’m renaming the Birthday German Chocolate Cake to The Love Cake.

There will be Love Cookies at the Valentine’s Partner class on Sunday. (It’s my new favorite ingredient.)

Hope to see you.

5 Responses to “Love Cake”


  1. 1 Josiane February 13, 2010 at 4:59 am

    Oh, I’ve just made a big Love Cake tonight! My gentleman friend’s birthday is coming up, and since his brother was supposed to come with his family for a visit tomorrow, I wanted to have a cake so that we could take this opportunity to celebrate together. Finally, he called to say that they won’t be able to make it, so we have a huge cake for just the two of us… Good thing that cakes made with love are good for us! :)
    I wish I could send you a piece…

  2. 2 Kelly Parkinson February 13, 2010 at 5:02 am

    I could just read your blog posts and nothing else and I would be better for it. You’ve got the love blog! Truly. Your posts are like cake.

  3. 4 janeen February 13, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    what a beautiful and telling idea! how many meals are made in a state of stress? love-soooo much better.

  4. 5 blogasana February 13, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    Oooo…. you guys are the best! Even better than the cake!
    @Josiane – a whole cake to yourselves! I wish I could have a piece too =) Enjoy!
    @Kelly – yay kelly!! Does Kermie like blog cake love posts too?
    @Tami – that’s what I said!
    @Janeen – so true. I can taste it already xo


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Topics

Tweets


