Doubt Day

Doubt plagues me today.

It feels scattery, flighty, nervous. Like an amateur bank robber.

Doubt doubt doubt doubt doubt.

I remembered that Ajahn Amaro addressed doubt in a talk I attended so I rifled through my notes and found this:

Doubt is a great teacher. See it as a condition of the mind, even though it might be a valid point or worthy thought.

Don’t become it.

Don’t try to avoid it.

Notice the doubt. Step out of the question (Is this where I should be?) and realize the assumptions you’re making behind the doubt (that there is a “right” place, a place you “should” be).

A doubt claims to be incomplete, that it needs an answer, but it’s not. It has an arising, a life, and a passing away.

Acknowledge “this is what doubt feels like” or “good question” and then let it pass.

Wise use of doubt – create a doubt to crack open your assumptions.

The mind loves to be entangled.

You can’t resolve doubt by thinking.

Yup. All true – no doubt about it.

The hardest thing is not wanting something unpleasant to be over.

Yesterday I committed to opening my hands (how quickly I forget). Little deaths, little births, little in betweens.

The last thing Ajahn Amaro said was, “Doubt has power by being half seen. Bringing it into awareness disempowers it.”

One of my words this morning was spacious.

Well, come on in little doubt monster. There’s room in here for both of us.

5 Responses to “Doubt Day”


  1. 1 Josiane February 23, 2010 at 2:29 am

    Those are very useful thoughts about doubt. Thank you for sharing them – I’m bookmarking this post, as I have a feeling I’ll want to read it again (and again) so that the wisdom sinks in.

  2. 3 elizabeth February 24, 2010 at 2:07 am

    Ah. Now that I think of it, I never do resolve it by thinking or trying to answer it. And yet, I continue on. I want to remember to try the “good question” thing on it.

  3. 4 janeen February 25, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    I find that my worst days are those that I’m mired in doubt. YUCK. I think if you take one baby step of confidence that it can go miles in a doubtful day…

  4. 5 blogasana February 26, 2010 at 12:42 am

    @elizabeth and janeen… both so true!


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

Topics

Tweets


