Fairy Dust

Remember when I was a little sad and totally unsure about the fairies? Not even sure I wanted to be the Queen?

Well…

Since stating my apprehension, pro-fairy friends have come out of the woodwork. Or the closets. Or where ever pro-fairy friends hang out.

Jacquelyn sent the most beautiful wand with a pink, glittery heart on the end. Because the Queen of the Fairies rules with love.

I started wearing my sparkles again. Small doses at first. And after the first dozen Oh my God I love your SPARKLES! I went full-out glitter-fest.

Then we had the first Gold Dust Mission Fairy Convention (formerly known as a Staff Meeting), and I shared, with slight hesitation and some censoring, the essence of who we are through the metaphor of Fairies in the Garden.

The response?

Quiet. At first.

I waved my wand a few times and then there was laughter.

I offered them sparkles and some partook.

And the meeting went on and it was fabulous.

And in the days following, some amazing things happened. One person went out and got herself some sparkles. One person shared that she secretly loved the idea of us as fairies. One person confided that she’s been long convinced that she has fairy heritage.

And then even more confessions: I love it, It’s perfect for us, Can we wear sparkles all the time?

What?

Could it be? Could it be that the fairies have come home? That I am accepted and loved, cuckoo sparkles and all? That It’s All Yoga is ready (after four and a half years) to embrace its essence and be the best it can be?

That’s what this feels like, and I feel like one of Blake’s fairies… whimsical, dancing, and free.

Blake's Fairies

8 Responses to “Fairy Dust”


  1. 1 Josiane March 4, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    What a delightful update! Yay! Reading that you went “full-out glitter-fest” filled me with joy, and it only kept getting better after that!
    You’re the most fabulous fairy I know, Michelle – no wonder you’re the Queen!
    {big hug}

  2. 2 janeen March 4, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    What a magical and whimsical notion…I love it!!

  3. 3 Keleigh March 4, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    Yes! Thank you for including me in the convention. I felt so very at home, and left totally inspired — not only to invest in some glitter (which I did), but to look for opportunities to share more, give more, be more…and disseminate some fairy sparkles wherever I go.
    xo

  4. 4 Tami March 5, 2010 at 1:16 am

    i’m totally pro-fairy.

  5. 5 Havi Brooks (and duck) March 5, 2010 at 1:45 am

    Yay! Do I get to say I KNEW IT?

    Cheering for sparkles and wands and acceptance and people totally getting your you-ness and appreciating how much cooler it makes their world.

    And, by the way, today I was doing a session of wackiness with my friend Carolyn, and I went into a meditation on this thing I was working on that was so stressing me out. And what came up was Just Ask The Fairies! Which is hilarious, because I don’t know any fairies. So of course I thought of YOU.

  6. 6 elizabeth March 5, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    This made me so happy to read! Yay, yay, yay! I am so glad you shared it and that people got it and loved it! I almost wish I still lived in Sacramento and could visit the fairy glen.

    You are the most fabulous fairy queen ever.

  7. 7 blogasana March 5, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    Ahhh… you all are the BEST.

    It’s only because of you that this was possible. No, *really* you have no idea.

    Hugs and glitter and wand waving and “I told you so’s” all around!!!

  8. 8 jacquelyn March 6, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    Gold Dust Mission Fairy Conventions are waaaaaay better than staff meetings.

    Who knew that a tiny little metaphor could be so powerful!
    I love all of the fairy confessions that came out of this -wow.

    YAY for whimsical, dancing, sparkly fairies!


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

Topics

Tweets


