Bad Hair Day

Do you ever walk into a restaurant or a store or a hair salon and think, oh this is not a good idea.

When you get that hit, that insight or feeling, do you ignore it?

Of course you don’t. Because you’re in touch with and responsive to your intuition.

Me? Apparently not so much.

The moral of the story is: don’t let a big greasy man in a salon that looks like a college dorm (including the unidentifiable stains on the mismatched love seats) touch your hair.

If you want the detail behind that, it goes something like this:

I made an appointment to go to a new stylist* (let’s call him Joe) because he had a great phone personality.

Yes, that’s right. I liked him on the phone. And he got great Yelp reviews (though since I first checked, he’s now had a couple of terrible reviews. Go figure.).

*Yes, I had just changed stylists before that and had a lovely cut from James at Apartment 19. I highly recommend him.**
**Which is why I’m going back.

Cut to walking in the “salon” — big greasy man. Long greasy hair. More piercings and tattoos than Motley Crew. College dorm. Unidentifiable stains on love seat.

Pause: So this is a critical juncture. Do I leave? Do say I forgot about an appointment? Do I say, oh I must have the wrong place… I’m looking for the donut shop. Or do I stay?

I stayed.

Sit down in chair. Joe asks what we’re doing today. Oh, just a trim.

Joe grabs the scissors and starts snipping randomly at my hair. He actually seems like Edward Scissorhands.

Uh, I have a couple of pretty good cowlicks in the back.

Yep. I see those. I’m just getting to know your head. This is like the first date.

At this point I thought I’d either leave there looking like a bajillion dollar super model, or it would be a total disaster.

***

I can’t even tell you how the hair color happened. I think I was drugged.

Picture a cheetah. That’s it. Spots. Swear to God.

And the cut. It’s so bad I can’t even begin to describe it.

Undercut, so there are 1/2 inch pieces that stick straight up through the parts that actually lie flat.

Strange long scraggly pieces that come out of nowhere.

And it looks like I have mutton chops.

***

A box color fixed the cheetah look. And I have an appointment to gravel to James on Thursday.

Or maybe I should try someone else???

(Totally kidding.)

See above for the moral of the story.

***

When was the last time you didn’t listen to your instincts?

6 Responses to “Bad Hair Day”


  1. 1 Leili March 10, 2010 at 4:30 am

    Gosh, I hate that feeling. Especially the feeling of later kicking myself for not listening to the inner voice.

    I think it’s because I’m vertically challenged, but I didn’t notice the hair. It does seem that a short cut really suits you well!

    And Michelle, if I haven’t passed enough referrals your way, I’ve got a wonderful hairstylist too. I haven’t sent a head of hair her way that didn’t go back a second (or third, or fourth) time! To be fair, my yoga ponytail doesn’t really speak for itself, but let me know if James is unavailable in the future and I’ll pass along her info.

  2. 2 elizabeth March 10, 2010 at 4:45 am

    Oh, Gawd. That reminds me of when I first moved to Sacramento. Well, Folsom at the time. I needed a stylist, of course, so I picked a place because I liked the name. It sounded like a good salon. I walked in, and every.single.stylist had 80’s hair. My gut said that I should leave immediately. I did not. Oh, it was sad.

    I know how I feel after a bad hair appt. (And believe you me, I have had many of them.) I offer hugs.

  3. 3 alicia March 10, 2010 at 5:00 am

    i didn’t notice any hair problems, but maybe it’s cuz i’m also vertically challenged… ;-) either that or it was the hair in my eyes, since i haven’t had a cut in months…

  4. 4 blogasana March 10, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    @leili – it helps that you have GORGEOUS hair!! i just might need that name… =)

    @elizabeth – i lOVE that you have a hair story too! thanks for sharing. and for the hug.

    @alicia – that’s cuz it’s the hair on the top of my head and you’re petite =)

  5. 5 Denice March 11, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    major iqnoring-persistant-screaming-instinct….
    First marriage….
    result: great kids but impossible relationship
    moral of story: should have just slept with him!

  6. 6 blogasana March 12, 2010 at 3:58 am

    @denice – ah… yes. good result, hard way to learn the lesson!


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

Topics

Tweets


