Pokey

This is Pokey.

He lives in Ukiah.

He has three legs.

One was cut off by a weed whacker when he was a kitten.

***

Sometimes he’s grumpy.

He can take only so many pets before he wants to bite your hand.

He doesn’t always feel like accepting friendship.

And for all the things he’s been through (the trauma, the surgeries, the whispers on the playground…), I don’t blame him.

It’s a wonder any of us take the risk, brave the vulnerability, and open our hearts over and over to love.

4 Responses to “Pokey”


  1. 1 Tami March 12, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    Just call me Pokey.

    I feel like I’ve got a lot in common with this cat. Which of course is totally stressing me out. I know he’s a real cat, but I’m thinking of him as a metaphor and for now I’d like to be called Pokey.

  2. 2 Kelley March 13, 2010 at 3:23 am

    Having lost an eye at the age of seven I too suffered from trauma, surgeries (many, many, many), questions, stares, doubts, insecurities and DRAMA (sometimes mine; sometimes from others). Being different at the age of 7 and having the last name of Slutts really made life super challenging for me growing up and well, who am I kidding, now too. At least I got married and got rid of that last name.

    Please ask Pokey if he wants to be in a support group with me. I think we have a lot in common.

    Thanks for this post. Made me remember that other souls have lost things too. Sometimes I don’t even notice it’s gone and other times it feels like a GIANT void. I wonder if Pokey feels this way too?

  3. 3 JennaFrancisco March 13, 2010 at 6:11 am

    Animals are so, so beautiful and deserve so much love, especially Pokey! Thanks for sharing.

  4. 4 blogasana March 13, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    @tami – i actually am going to call you pokey – until you tell me to stop.

    @kelley – a support group is a great idea and i bet lots of people would want in. your story makes my heart cry a little… and also makes me embrace the beautiful person you’ve become (in and out) in spite of (or because of?) the ignorance of others. thanks for sharing, kelley.

    @jenna – don’t they?! so innocent….


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Topics

Tweets


