Fire

Every once in a while, when my tolerance is low — maybe I’m tired, maybe I’m PMSing, maybe business has been slow and I’m losing faith — this question slips in: What if I just get a real job again? Steady paycheck, off at 5, leave work at the office.

Even the question itself feels like resignation. It feels like defeat. With dull undertones of false security.

***

Danielle LaPorte was tweeted my way, probably by Gwen Bell, a few months ago. Her website is a gold mine of delicious, powerful ideas. It feels like a celebration of Woman. She speaks her Truth clearly and lovingly.

She began to advertise her Fire Starter Sessions. I was intrigued. I ordered. It has arrived.

I am reading the packet this evening. On page 13, quote from Jason Calcanis:

You see, there are two types of entrepreneurs in this world: real ones and the folks who play entrepreneurs for some portion of their lives. From a distance, most folks can‘t tell who‘s who. In up times, when the market is flush with cheap money and unexplained exits, everyone looks brilliant.

The differences between the two types of entrepreneurs become clear when the fan and the manure meet. The faux entrepreneurs run for cover rather than dealing with the storm. They go back to their plush, somewhat mindless jobs as VPs at mega-companies, while the real entrepreneurs suit up and clean up the mess.

It’s that feeling of someone hitting your nail smack on the head—I want to swear, I want to sing.

But what I really want to do is encourage you to light your fire, too.

Danielle is speaking to entrepreneurs… the one in each of us, the one who sometimes works for other people, the one who changes the world with whatever they do.

She is speaking to that smolder in you that is destined to begin to blaze.

Read about the program here. I’ll be sharing more (since I’m on page 13 of 192… dozens of videos and worksheets coming up) so stayed tuned. If you’re not curious now, you will be after I start smokin’.

And, by the way, I won’t be going back to any plush, mindless job anytime soon…

Thanks, Danielle.

8 Responses to “Fire”


  1. 1 Kelley May 12, 2010 at 4:51 am

    Michelle,

    I’m quite sure you will feel so much better once I return to yoga with my VISA blazing. LOL Seriously though you are so awesome and the work you do is so critical and influential to all us yogis who so diligently attend your classes, love your teachers and visit the studio endless times. We wouldn’t do so if we didn’t LOVE it and find pure joy. Thanks for all you do. Did I mention that I miss you yet this week.

  2. 2 Diane May 12, 2010 at 5:27 am

    I’m not sure that working for someone else is a mindless persuite that ends at 5pm. I’ve had plenty of employees that are dedicated to getting their work done far past 5p. I know they expect and rely on their pay check AND have worked hard and beyond expectations for it. They own the company too!
    I think you have done the above and have many that do the same now!

    There are always so many good ways to highlight your business and I think you capture most!….Bravo!…xo,d

  3. 3 Y is for Yogini May 12, 2010 at 8:40 am

    Time to set the night on fire. :) I believe you can and do.

  4. 4 Teacher Goes Back to School May 12, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    I can’t wait to hear more about the Fire Starting Sessions!

  5. 5 Liz May 12, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    I needed this. Thank you.

  6. 6 blogasana May 12, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    @kelley – did i mention that i miss you??? xo

    @diane – it is true. my vision in moments of weakness is more like a coffee house cashier. =) not plush (unless the chai is good) and completely mindless (other than the awesome people each day).

    @ms. y – it *is* time. thank you, friend.

    @teacher tams – i look forward to sharing! it rocks thus far.

    @liz – back at you, girl. anytime.

  7. 7 JennaFrancisco May 14, 2010 at 1:44 am

    I have those feelings sometimes too, especially when I feel too much responsibility knocking on my door. Anytime you feel that question sneaks its way back in, go back to that “What is your one thing?” idea. I love this from Deepak Chopra: The Law of Dharma
    Seek your higher Self. Discover your unique talents. Ask yourself how you are best suited to serve humanity. Using your unique talents and serving others brings unlimited bliss and abundance.
    You serve the world beautifully in what you do. THANK YOU.
    And you left me curious–a little fire is what I probably need too!

    • 8 blogasana May 16, 2010 at 12:08 am

      Ah, YES! What is your one thing… (how quickly I forget). Deepak always gets it! That’s beautiful – thanks!!


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Topics

Tweets


