How do I feel?

In addition to the other two questions floating around me lately, this one—how do I feel—has had extra meaning.

I enrolled in Hiro’s Internet Hangover Recovery class at the urging of my husband. He didn’t know he was urging me to sign up, but his “I’m worried about how much time you’re spending on the computer” talk felt like an intervention leading me to internet rehab.

In the first class (a teleclass, btw), she told us that the most important question we can ask ourselves, ever, is “How do I feel?”

Of course, I know this is an important question. It’s one of the main questions I ask students to answer for themselves in class. When we are connected to what we feel in the moment, we can make wise decisions on the mat.

Hiro says that when we know the answer to that question, we can then address the question, “What do I need?” Hopefully the answer informs those wise decisions.

On the internet, this might look like:

  • Asking what you feel (lonely)
  • Asking what you need (company, to feel community and connection)

(There is a third question that I’ll dedicate a later post to.)

***

    I offered this question (what do I feel) as the theme for class yesterday.

    Over and over, checking in with the sensation and the breath in poses, in transitions, we asked the question.

    Before savasana I demonstrated Supta Baddha Konasana, uber-cush with a bolster and blocks. People settled in.

    How do you feel?

    “If anyone feels anything sharp or uncomfortable, let me know.” I always make this request for supportive poses that are meant to be soft and blissful. I asked it of the class on Monday.

    Students had the option of staying in this pose for savasana; most people did. A few people came out and took traditional corpse pose.

    After the class, I checked in with a newer student, new to my class. How do you feel?

    Well, I feel good now.

    Ok, great!

    But I’ll pay for it tomorrow. I shouldn’t have done that last pose, it felt tight and uncomfortable.

    I was a little surprised. But to say I couldn’t understand why she didn’t tell me, why she didn’t make a change, why maybe she didn’t even identify theses feelings in the pose would be untrue.

    Here I am, past 10 pm, on the computer. I’ll just get this post done.

    I know I feel tired. I know I committed to staying offline after 8 (ok, after 6).

    But changing is so. hard. to. do.

    4 Responses to “How do I feel?”


    1. 1 JennaFrancisco May 19, 2010 at 5:24 am

      Change IS so hard! I’m hoping to exchange some of my computer time with nurturing books and more outdoor time as soon as I’m done w/ work. I’m on the computer WAY too much these days. But it is kinda fun…sometimes. Good luck with your rehab!

      • 2 blogasana May 20, 2010 at 4:41 pm

        those are the things i’m trying to do more of too. it’s the “doing it” part that is hard! plus, like you say, there’s fun and interesting stuff out there! one thing the class is teaching is how to distinguish the fun stuff from the stuff that makes you feel anxious, depressed, unworthy, etc. and there’s a lot of that out there too!

    2. 3 Frenzy36n May 24, 2010 at 2:14 am

      The internet by itself is no different from any social activity. If you are there to have fun, learn, & share it is an awesome place. Even if you feel you just need to connect with some people – it usually works just fine if you don’t have a deadline. Where it can turn is if it your goto place for all contact. Then is like waiting for a letter to arrive, but unlike your mailbox which you check once a day, you check this mailbox continously …

      As an internet survivor since ’95, I do believe having a limit is a healthy thing. Fill in the other times with any number of activities. Take pleasure in many items and then no single one can let you down, and watch yourself if you start to check that mailbox too often

      • 4 blogasana May 24, 2010 at 3:44 am

        Great advice. Thanks! I did make a “things to do besides check email list” – ala Gwen Bell. It’s a strange animal, this addiction is. Will take your thoughts to heart.


    How about you?

        Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 79 other followers

    Topics

    Tweets


