When is it time for yoga?

Last week I was hanging with some yogis outside of It’s All Yoga before Bob‘s class, and one woman casually mentioned that she knew she needed yoga that day because she’d snapped at her husband unnecessarily.

It got me thinking about the signs our bodies and minds give us when we’re out of balance.

I posted the question, “How do you know when you need yoga” as our Facebook status and students responded:

  • when my lower back starts to get real tight! or i also feel a little agitated for no reason..lol
  • When I feel out of balance (physically and emotionally).
  • When I feel sluggish and low energy.
  • when my body & brain ache
  • when i think there isn’t enough time for it.
  • when I start not wanting to do it. i resist it. :(

I relate to all of these. And add:

  • I feel disconnected from my body
  • I catch my image in a mirror or window and look like a hunchback (aka hackerback)
  • after working from the couch where it’s impossible to sit up straight
  • when I work for hours on the computer and realize I haven’t taken a break and feel completely overtaken by the energy of the computer/internet—and a freakish inability to step away (thank goodness for Hiro‘s Internet Hangover course)
  • after a road trip or plane ride
  • when I want to kill bubby
  • when I lack inspiration for class
  • when I feel like everything else is more urgent and important
  • I’m overwhelmed
  • after vacuuming (ergonomically impossible to have good posture!)
  • if I start my day with it–before I even get out of bed–I’m more apt to do little bits throughout the day because I’ve had a taste of how much better I can feel (and stay tuned for what I do if I blew the whole day)
  • when I forget what’s real and essential in my life

(These are all going in my Book of Me.)

So. What are yours? How do you know you need yoga? Or a walk, or a nap, or a drink? Ok, maybe not a drink.

9 Responses to “When is it time for yoga?”


  1. 1 Kelley May 20, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    …I feel slightly to the other side of this equation. When it is NOT time?

  2. 2 Kelley May 20, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    That’s posed to say When IS IT NOT time? Wake up Kel…No typos!

  3. 3 Gilda May 20, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    Right on, Kelley!

    Ironically, I think I need yoga most when I find myself concocting excuses for not going to class or stepping on the mat (too tired, too much work to do, too fuzzy-brained, blahblahblah…) I always feel better if I just go ahead and do it. Thanks for the focus on that, M!

  4. 4 Liz May 20, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    You hit the nail on the head with all of these. Aka, I need to go in ASAP :)

  5. 5 Liz May 20, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    ps; After reading this I sat up in my chair a little straighter. HACKER BACK BE GONE!

  6. 6 blogasana May 20, 2010 at 11:03 pm

    @kelley – you speak the truth, girl.

    @gilda – me too! what is it with the resistance?

    @liz – ‘hacker back be gone’ is my mantra. i might start chanting it in class ;-)

  7. 7 Miranda May 21, 2010 at 11:46 am

    …when it is 4am and I can’t sleep eventhough I’m exhausted because the ‘mind-chatter’ is too loud.

    • 8 blogasana May 21, 2010 at 4:52 pm

      oh i hear ya, miranda! and that just starts a bummer cycle of stress. making it, of course, the perfect time!

  8. 9 Elizabeth May 22, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    You made me sit up straight. ;)

    Clearly, it is time for yoga right now.


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

Topics

Tweets


