Remember?

“If I’m going to sing like someone else, then I don’t need to sing at all.” ~Billie Holiday

I’ve written about this before. About how each of us is brilliantly unique and has something to offer, do, express, make, or share better than anyone else. (And they all also have their thing. Everybody has a Thing.)

In a culture that is trying to make us all the same (follow the fashion, keep up on trends, get this product, serum, surgery so you can look like this other person) authenticity is getting harder to come by.

Even, dare I say, in yoga where some people are encouraging a “right way.” My teacher calls it the Performance Pants Syndrome.

Seth Godin talks about it in a business sense.

Danielle LaPorte‘s Fire Starter Course is the choir singing the “Be you, baby” hymn.

And the crazy thing is, no one else can tell you what it looks like. To say just be you, be different, be authentic isn’t really helpful if you don’t know who you are.

I love reading blogs. I love reading blogs about how to be authentic… maybe more than I like to practice being authentic. And, honestly, sometimes I am so inspired by someone else’s authenticity that I wonder if theirs would look good on me. It’s like trying to wear someone else’s pants: they are probably too short and I’ll end up hating the color.

So I’m declaring this weekend a blog-free weekend. Saturday will be my official Memorial Day.*  A way to remember myself. To check in with the most essential question. I plan to journal, spend time in the hammock, dig in the dirt, and hug some people.

*In no way meant to offend the Veterans—truly worthy of honor and remembrance and I bow to them.

How are you spending your weekend?

5 Responses to “Remember?”


  1. 1 Kelly Parkinson May 28, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    The hardest thing about the advice to be myself is that sometimes myself doesn’t feel like such a nice person. I get mad or sad or lackadaisical or stressed, and I don’t want to put that person out there. I think I need to step away and give that person what she needs. Not BE her, but FEED her. It’s like a crying baby. That’s not the video I’m going to put up on YouTube, even though that would be, technically, a baby being itself. But who’d benefit from seeing that? Would it really do anyone any good to hear me complaining and griping, even though that really is me in that moment? So what ends up happening is you get me, but only the positive me. Mostly. ;) Happy Memorial Day!

  2. 2 Frenzy36 May 29, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    I like to take your thought one step farther “everybody can shine”

  3. 3 tami May 29, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    this weekend:

    i’m encouraging people to lie down and rest for a bit.

    i’m reading a book! yes, it’s based on a blog, but it’s a book i can hold in my hands.

    i’m holding the hand of a sad friend and taking a trip to the ocean.

  4. 4 Amy --- Just A Titch May 30, 2010 at 12:33 am

    I love that Billie Holliday quote; I’ve never heard it before. I struggle with the ability to just be “me” all the time. I am surrounded by such amazing people all the time, and I find it tempting to sort of take on their loves, interests and ideas, even when they don’t really mesh with mine. Recently, I made a list of all the things that make me who I am, the things I am passionate about, etc. and kept thinking over and over again: let this be enough. Still workin’ on that.

    I hope your rest this weekend is just what you need. I’m doing the same…enjoying some downtime.

  5. 5 blogasana June 1, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    @kelly – feed that baby, for pete’s sake! =) i hear what you’re sayin. it reminds me of something that havi said about her most popular posts being the ones where she put herself out there — warts and all (not that she has any warts). and then there’s the other side of this that says your true essence isn’t any of that stuff anyway. all of the surface moods and preferences are just a film over the You that’s trying to come out. or something like that :-)

    @frenzy – amen!

    @tami – nice. missed you.

    @amy – i have that same dilemma. i feel like “inspiration” has such a fine line between being like that person, and being more of yourself. maybe being more like someone else is influence and not inspiration. i think it’s a good thing to keep an eye on. i love the list idea. then you have something physical to check in with. hope you had some good downtime, too!


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

Topics

Tweets


