Introducing…

Linchpin:

someone who is indispensable;
who cannot be replaced;
whose role is too valuable and unique to find again

We all need to be Linchpins at whatever it is we do.

Last night I went to a Linchpin meetup. It was like a world-wide one-night dating service: Purple Cow seeks Linchpin. Into the group thing. Must know who Seth Godin is.

I wasn’t completely sure why I was going, other than Tami has drunk the Seth Godin koolaid… and, she’s my Linchpin.

We arrived at Fox & Goose to meet 9 other people and spent the next three hours sharing stories, building relationships, creating bonds, sharing ideas, listening and laughing. Seth would be proud.

I really want to talk about the synergistic connections that happened, the quirky people, the take-aways… but I can’t. Something else is here.

***

Last night a feeling that has been swelling for a while reached a summit: as a business, It’s All Yoga is finally embracing itself, its uniqueness, its value.

Which lets us shine.

Which makes it easier for our people to find us.

Which builds our community, or tribe.

For a long time I’ve known who we are. I can spot a right person within a second. I know that we are unique and offering something essential to this moment, city and world.

I’ve had fear around putting it out there: What if we alienate people? What if Miss Fancy Pants stops coming? What if I offend someone?

Now, I know some of you are nodding… answering those obvious questions with a resounding Who Cares?!… shaking fists at the sky I’ve been telling her!

Ya, ya. Keep your pants on. This isn’t as easy as it looks.

***

As you may know, we’re five now. We’re big. We don’t want to use the training wheels anymore.

I never imagined it would feel this good. Suddenly I feel like I’ve come out of hiding. Like I’ve shed some old scaly skin. Like I don’t have to lie anymore.

It’s revolutionary.

May I introduce the new It’s All Yoga website where you will:

  • see pictures of me and many other teachers and students
  • find out—in clear language—what we’re about
  • learn that I’m the Queen of the Fairies
  • see that we are not a hot power vinyasa studio
  • learn 13 things about us

I’m not even adding links. You have to poke around and find it all.

You can’t please everyone. I can’t please everyone. For maybe the first time in my life this doesn’t sound like Japanese.

11 Responses to “Introducing…”


  1. 1 Kelly Parkinson June 15, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    Seriously, there needs to be a new word invented just for you and your team to describe the insane accomplishments you’ve pulled off in just a few months. Videos. Singing. Blog posts. Some sort of yoga clothing swap? The most amazing website makeover ever. Wow wow wow wow wow. The word “inspiration” doesn’t do you justice.

    • 2 blogasana June 16, 2010 at 3:25 am

      @kelly – girl, you know a lot of this was inspired by you. i kept hearing your voice – ‘use regular language! juxtapose the unexpected! be awesome!’ so thank you, thank you, thank you!
      @kim – fire… that’s right.

  2. 3 yogaquest June 15, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    You’re on fire. Bright as the summer sun – infused with this season of re-birth, warmth, heat. Thanks for bringing the contagious inspiration of growth and becoming to all of us.

  3. 4 Ryan June 16, 2010 at 1:33 am

    I wish more businesses would take this approach. I wish the world would take more of this approach.

    For me, what you/we’ve created at IAY is an *intention* that is based on the power of attraction. You/we’ve stood for yourself and said, “this is the space I want to inhabit.” And then invited people who want to inhabit that kind of place to come share in it and, perhaps more importantly, given them the power to participate in creating it.

    This seems very different than the [downward facing] *dogma* you can find at other studios that defensively say “Unless you’re like me, you can’t be in our club.” Ultimately, the people that are invested in club memberships (i.e. The Cute Yoga Pant Club, the Hard Rockin’ Do Plow Or Else Club) go elsewhere. And then the people who share in y/our intention end up staying–and spreading the word to their like minded friends, partners, families, even dogs!

    In short, you’ve put out a sign saying “Fairies Welcome Here.” Trolls still show up and you graciously offer them a mat and a spot in the room. You never say, “No Trolls Allowed,” but they wander off to find their places under their own bridges, and the fairies are the ones that stick around and settle in. From this fairy, thank you!

    • 5 blogasana June 16, 2010 at 3:23 am

      Oh Ryan… where the hell are my tissues?? That is so beautiful. Next time I’ll just have you write the webpage. “Thank you” doesn’t quite do it justice, but it’s all I have right now… since I need to go find a tissue. <3

  4. 6 Lisa Kewish June 16, 2010 at 4:48 am

    oh goody…another place where I can declare how much I enjoyed our “Linchpin Night.” Yes…IAY radiates heart and spirit and I’m spreading the news. Loudly.

    :D

  5. 7 Amy --- Just A Titch June 16, 2010 at 5:20 am

    I need to know more about this Linchpin business. Sounds awesome!

  6. 8 Leili June 16, 2010 at 5:40 am

    Will you/Tami be attending the proposed meeting on June 30? I’ve signed up!

  7. 9 blogasana June 16, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    @lisa – yes! let’s declare!!! i checked out your jewelry on etsy… so cool!! really looking forward to this. thanks for spreading our word as well =)
    @amy – truly – i think you’d dig it.
    @leili – i have not rsvp, but will look into it!! yay! :D

  8. 10 Elizabeth June 17, 2010 at 5:29 am

    You all really are on fire – and are such an inspiration. I loved the website. I can hear your voice in it.


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Topics

Tweets


