In the center

I spent an hour yesterday in the hammock. There was a breeze, I was swaying, perfectly shaded. Drinking an iced chai. Listening to the birds.

And… BIRDS! There was a sudden flutter of doves above me. Oh how sweet. They’re mating. Love was in the air.

At some point the thought actually entered my mind that life is perfect and beautiful and I think that will be the theme for class tonight.

So I got out of the hammock to do a little practice on the deck. To plan the life is perfect and beautiful class.

Suddenly the dog was in pounce mode over the lavender bush. And the cat was prowling a dove on the ground that was doing what I thought was a mating dance. I left my mat to investigate further.

Realizing there was something in the lavender bush that the dog wanted to play with eat, I put her in the house. After looking all around the bush for the critter, I was just about to go back to my mat when I saw it. A baby bird that had fallen out of a nest above.

What was clearly the mother bird was still doing her dance, which I realized was her fake “broken wing” attempt to lure the cat away from the baby.

Got the bird back in the nest (with its sibling). And the mother eventually returned. And presumably they all recovered and are still there.

But my mat time post bird trauma was wrought with life is hard and painful. Oils spills, breaking hearts, suffering everywhere.

***

Two fabulous things came from this whiplash change in state of mind.

First, I giggled a little at how quickly my whole life view changed from one extreme to the other with new circumstances. Nothing about “me” changed. Just the circumstances. And isn’t that how we are all whipped around day to day, moment to moment. This happens, these conditions, and we feel happy. Something else happens, different conditions, and we feel horrible.

The second thing was remembering a beautiful post I’d read earlier in the day about Lord Shiva, or Nataraja, the Hindu deity that represents the cycle of life and the power of transformation. Shiva is often depicted dancing in a ring of fire. The dance of life, the dance of the bird (whether mating or decoy) reminded me of the post. To quote the author:

Nataraja’s dance is the dance of destruction that enables the dance of creation.  It is the dance of banishing darkness and ignorance in the manifestation of light and enlightenment.  It’s the dance of transformation, and of the oneness of creator and created.

As I’ve been suggesting lately in class, I found myself in an opportunity to sit in the middle of the ring, the fire, the dance, the dualities and simply be with it all. So many things, often juxtaposed, existing at once.

The circles and cycles of life.

10 Responses to “In the center”


  1. 1 Keleigh June 25, 2010 at 4:48 am

    so beautiful…thank you, m.

  2. 2 Bob June 25, 2010 at 5:09 am

    These reminders are so valuable. Your examples, perfect. Thank you.

  3. 5 tami June 25, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    thank you for paying attention. you were able to intervene and save that bird baby from the cat. you’re like a super hero to that mama bird.

    whiplash/rollercoaster. same diff. i’m finally really hearing (not quite feeling yet, but maybe someday) that when things suck they will change and when things are great they will change. i guess my work is still to be with what is now and not worry or anticipate what will be.

  4. 6 janeen June 26, 2010 at 3:09 am

    Great post. I’m wordless. So what I needed to read today. ILY.

  5. 7 Elizabeth June 28, 2010 at 4:08 am

    This reminded me of my life with Atlas’ health troubles, and how I can go from “Atlas is going to die of this strange disease that the vet suggested” to “oh, Atlas just has a sprained muscle” in seconds. It’s never funny in the moment, but it’s funny after the fact. I’d like to be able to step back and watch myself.

    Beautiful post, thank you.

  6. 8 blogasana June 28, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    Thank you for the sweet comments. It’s a deja vu Monday… the bird is out of the nest again. We put it in a basket and put the basket in the tree. It may be trying to learn to fly… but a cat had it pinned in the yard. It’s hard to come back to center from the pull of “life is so hard”… You all make it easier. xo

  7. 9 emma June 29, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    i quoted you on the ol’ blogio today. hope that’s okay. let me know if it isn’t.

    thanks,

    e.


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

Topics

Tweets


