things i love in class

laughing

quiet time

props

hugs

learning something

being surprised

being humbled

sighs

letting someone else “drive”

lying down

feeling strong

savasana loves (foot or head massage)

feeling cared for

***

What do you love in class? What do you go for? Do you have a favorite/special memory?

13 Responses to “things i love in class”


  1. 1 Amy --- Just A Titch July 5, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    I love those moments in class when the teacher says something—either about a pose, or life, or whatever—that I really needed to hear but without knowing that’s exactly what I needed. That synchronicity always amazes me.

    I’m also partial to tree, warrior and of course, savasana. And hugs. I guess I just really love class.

  2. 2 Emma July 5, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    physical assists. almost always lovely. learning new things (from students and teachers). “failing” beautifully (falling, not even coming close, etc.).

  3. 3 Leili July 5, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    Chills after “om.” *Not* being able to do a pose, but trying and laughing. The sense of community. Sharing with others. Classes themed around shoulder issues. Legs up the wall. Releasing old feelings, whether grief or joy.

  4. 4 tami July 6, 2010 at 1:32 am

    epiphanies!

    dare i say – crying????

    realizing that everything doesn’t suck.

    the world isn’t actually going to end.

    working hard when it feels right.

    trying new poses and laughing.

    HUGS!

    props.
    props.
    props.
    props.

    the right words at the right time from the right person so i can hear it. (basically what amy said)

    LOVE.

  5. 5 tami July 6, 2010 at 1:33 am

    REST!

    i forgot REST!

  6. 6 Ryan July 6, 2010 at 4:27 am

    Receiving the compassion I often struggle to extend to myself.
    Accepting the forgiveness I often feel unable to grant myself.
    Getting the mindful attention I often forget to give myself.
    Embracing the generosity that I often refuse to offer to myself.
    Becoming conscious of the breath that I often take for granted.

    And coming to a deeper and deeper awareness that it’s all compassion, it’s all forgiveness, it’s all mindfulness, it’s all generosity, it’s all breath. It’s *ALL* Yoga.

  7. 8 Rebel Road Sister July 6, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    What I love about class are: 1-being surprised (not realizing how far I can go until I am actually there) 2-The happiness and excitement that comes from being surprised 3-Quiet Time (it’s just so nice and relaxing)
    Great post!

  8. 9 JennaFrancisco July 6, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    Oh, so many things, and reading this makes me miss going to class so much! Relaxing, challenging myself, balance poses, how great it feels after a needed stretch, savasana love, seeing friends or making new ones, unexpected epiphanies…
    A favorite memory (there are many; this is just one) was attending Tamara’s classes (not prenatal) and being in my third trimester. We had a lot of good laughs, and I enjoyed some great moments in my physical practice.

  9. 10 Jeannie July 6, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    +feeling powerful inside the stillness

    +where your heart feels safe, even if for an hour

    +pure…unsolicited…happiness

    +half moons

    +grounding

    +leaving my day at the door

    +connection

    +complete moments of silliness

    +the realization that physical limitations are no excuse to deprive yourself of something so beautiful.

  10. 12 Robin Netzer July 6, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    oh- all I can say is Amen! to all of the above and connecting to my breath. Maybe basic but that one little act starts it all.

  11. 13 blogasana July 6, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    what beautiful comments. YES YES YES!!!


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

Topics

Tweets


