Simple Things

Some days self care is as simple as a no- (or mo-) jito.

It’s not so much about the drink itself (although it is my favorite summer flavor of the moment).

It’s more about getting up from my desk, which I’ll sometimes I’ll be at for hours at a time. Without standing up. Without going pee.

It’s taking the 5 minutes to go outside and touch something real and alive. And then pluck it for my enjoyment.

It’s listening to the fizzies of the soda meeting the syrup. Seeing the green mint sliding around the ice.

It’s remembering that I can take minutes, moments for myself. Just for me. To do whatever I want to do.

And today it was having a bubbly, sweet n’ puckery drink.

Lavendar Nojito

10 or so leaves of fresh mint
1/4 C lavender syrup (soak and squish mint in syrup for a few minutes)
Glass of club soda
Squeeze a’ lime

The 1/4 C white rum is optional =)

8 Responses to “Simple Things”


  1. 1 Amy --- Just A Titch July 16, 2010 at 4:12 am

    The addition of lavender sounds amazing…as does the rum.

  2. 3 yogaquest July 16, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    “Innocence is what we allow
    to be gifted back to us
    once we’ve given ourselves away.”
    ~David Whyte

  3. 5 Madeleine July 17, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    So delicious.

  4. 6 Elizabeth July 21, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    Mmmmm. I am noting this. I’ll have to look for lavender syrup.

  5. 7 tami August 6, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    that lavendar syrup is magic.


  1. 1 11 Things « leililearninglife Trackback on December 29, 2010 at 5:51 am

How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

Topics

Tweets


