come on cowboy

This is me and my horse Snoopy.

Snoopy was the best horse in the world. He was my very best friend.

I started riding when I was 6. He died when I was in my early 20s. That’s a heartache a girl never gets over.

For all of my adult life I have wanted a horse. It’s always been someday I’ll have a horse again. Someday when

You know the when story:

when there’s enough time, money, energy, room
when everything else is perfect
when all the stars align

But when is it the right time?

And what I’ve started to ask myself lately is, When is it not the right time?

Life isn’t waiting for me. Days turn into months turn into glorious years. I remember the girl who rode Snoopy, yet I am a woman almost 39 years old. How did that happen?

Bubby and I decided the time is now.

So friends, with great excitement I’d like to introduce our horse Cowboy.

Say Hi Cowboy.

Cowboy is about 12 years old (making him roughly 30 in human years; horses can live into their early 30s).

He is a Thoroughbred.

He is 16.3 hands high (a hand is 4 inches measured at the withers). This means he is TALL.

He is very underweight. Since everything in our house ends up a little plump, I have no worries about him putting on the pounds.

This is Camille giving him a look-over. They call it a Pre-Purchase Exam. It involves soundness checks to make sure the horse’s legs and joints are healthy. One of the tests is performed by flexing a joint to its maximum, holding it there for a couples of minutes, and then making the horse run. Cowboy passed all of his tests.

He lives out at R&R Ranch with his new horsie pals. They have wagon wheels there.

He’s very social and seems to get along with everyone. He and Bubby are even making friends.

We had a couple of dates to test the waters. Don’t we make a nice couple?

We’re going to take our time getting to know one another, getting pets and loves, eating treats, and taking walks. Soon we’ll be going on trail rides and exploring a world new to both of us.

***

We took the scenic route on the way home from R&R last night so we could follow the sunset. On one of the ranches there was this old concrete silo.

I do believe the stars have aligned.

23 Responses to “come on cowboy”


  1. 1 Madeleine October 4, 2010 at 2:26 am

    Oh, that is wonderful. Congrats, Michelle! He is absolutely beautiful.

  2. 2 tami October 4, 2010 at 2:38 am

    welcome home, cowboy!

    you both look like you’ve found your new best friend.

    i can’t wait to meet him.

  3. 3 Brittany October 4, 2010 at 2:41 am

    Michelle, I love it! He looks so happy to be with you.

  4. 4 Amanda October 4, 2010 at 2:47 am

    This is so wonderful Michelle!

  5. 5 Kelley M October 4, 2010 at 2:57 am

    Isn’t life so very rewarding? I’m impressed by your abilities to follow your dreams. Looks like Cowboy is lucky to have you and you are lucky to have him. True love. Hugs.

  6. 6 Danny October 4, 2010 at 3:02 am

    i love you for just being you michelle,not many people realize that its the simplest things that make us truly happy,for me its having friends like you,Danny

  7. 7 carolyn October 4, 2010 at 3:05 am

    i have had a few horses in my life…looks like you are really getting IT…i can see it in his body in the photo where you are riding…he is relaxing into the relationship…
    peace
    and\aloha!

  8. 8 bachatero80 October 4, 2010 at 3:29 am

    o. m. g.

    He looks like the bestest.

    And every girl (and boy who inclines that way) needs a cowboy in their life.

  9. 9 alicia October 4, 2010 at 5:44 am

    awwww, so sweet. i got all teary eyed. he’s a beauty.

  10. 10 Geanette October 4, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    Sweet story and beautiful dream coming into reality! I can’t wait to hear more…

    XOXO

  11. 11 Bob October 4, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    Welcome home cowboy, and cowgirl. Wonderful!

  12. 12 Tracy October 4, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    Well, Hello Cowboy! He’s beautiful, Michelle. And so is this post. I’m closing in on 38–I’m really starting to feel the passage of time lately. Closing in on 40 one can’t help but take stock, makes some changes (if needed) and makes dreams come true. So glad your horse dream came true. Have fun playing cowgirl! :o)

  13. 13 Cate Dyer October 4, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    Oh Mam, I am so happy for you. You will give him the incredible home he needs. You can rescue him and in turn I know he will rescue you! I am so excited for you in your journey and can’t wait till Cowboy is up for going riding with his new family from Placerville! We will trailer our boys down there to go out with you as soon as you both are ready! Lots of Love!

  14. 14 blogasana October 4, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    @madeleine – thank you!!

    @tami – thanks =) me too!

    @brittany – yay!!

    @amanda – thanks =)

    @kelley – it is, or at least it can be =). xo

    @danny – right back at you danny – it’s the little things (like being friends with you!)

    @carolyn – we’re getting there!

    @ryan – *everybody* needs a cowboy!

    @alicia – aw… thank you <3

    @geanette – thanks!

    @bob – thanks, bob… xo

    @tracy – it's true – i've never thought about age as that important to me, but i definitely sense 40 coming on!! as you say, a good marker to take stock.

    @cate – thank you!! i love my new mag subscription!!!

  15. 15 Elizabeth October 6, 2010 at 3:04 am

    I am all teary-eyed! You and Cowboy look so happy together. (That smile kills me. I love it.)

    I am so glad your horse dream came true again.

  16. 16 Kelly Parkinson October 6, 2010 at 7:20 am

    Hi Cowboy! I love the way he looks so glossy and majestic from afar, but up close he turns into a lovable goofball with whiskers on his chin. I have always, always wanted a horse.

  17. 17 yogaquest October 6, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    he’s beautiful. so glad the two of you are together.

  18. 18 Diane October 11, 2010 at 5:30 am

    I just looked at the photos…no wonder you decided on him…he’s really beautiful and you too as his rider…!

  19. 19 Jen October 13, 2010 at 2:01 am

    A belated hello to tell you I am SO jealous. But you look gorgeous together!

  20. 20 CK December 3, 2010 at 6:42 am

    Just came across this song on YouTube –


  1. 1 let there be light Trackback on October 3, 2011 at 9:02 pm
  2. 2 feng shui and poem Trackback on October 3, 2011 at 9:07 pm

How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

Topics

Tweets


