my last cleanse of the year

This morning I made a list of all the things on my plate through the end of the year, both business related and personal. Most of the things were more on the “have to” side of things than the “want to.”

After making the list and considering the number of days remaining in the year, I realized that something has to go. The list itself cannot necessarily be pared down (unless I want to ditch one of the remaining weekends of Teacher Training or not decorate for Christmas, which is one of the few things on the “want to” side).

So, something else has to go. Something I usually do with my time.

Not Cowboy. No way, he wouldn’t have it. Plus, he just got a mani/pedi and is giddy to show it off.

And it’s not skimping on time with Miss Roxy. Her chemo appointments are going well (thanks for your sweet inquiries) and we’re enjoying extra treats and snuggles (on the bed, where she has never been allowed).

I must look to my two previous cleanses of the year for guidance.

First, I stopped talking about other people. It was for only two weeks, but there were many good lessons there.

Then in October I did a 28 day healthy eating cleanse. Cut out dairy, all bread and gluten, sugar, soy, and stimulants.

There were moments of grumpiness, highlighted emotional eating patterns and sweet tooth mania. All in all, a great exercise of commitment, creativity, and preparedness. Physically, I felt amazing. (So good that we’re offering it through the studio in January.)

The thread here as I see it is health, cutting out what can be toxic, and creating more space for what is nourishing.

In this vein, my last cleanse of the year will be….

Social Media.

This is not to say that social media is evil and toxic. However, I have stated here several times that my relationship with Facebook and Twitter often errs on the side of obsessive.

Stressing about being appropriately smart, funny and helpful on every tweet.

Checking more times a day than I care to admit to see if anyone is connecting with me of Facebook.

When this insecurity gets strong enough that I can’t ignore it, I know I need to go into myself rather than out, to find wholeness rather than validation.

This season has an innate quality of quietude and rest… yet it is perhaps our busiest season as a culture.

It may be the small things that keep me on track—sitting in the morning (btw, here’s a free meditation for you), consistent sleep hours, maintain those good habits from the cleanse.

Ironic that this is also a season of connection, and I do sense that I’m craving that. This will make it more necessary and rewarding to connect with live people—write cards, reach out by phone, have a cookie baking party.

Doesn’t that sound fun!? And spacious. And joyful.

So I probably won’t see you on Facebook or Twitter, but I’d love to connect with you in the comments, or over tea.

Or here! My new website has a landing page!! And it hints at what’s in store….. so excited and looking forward to sharing soon.

 

12 Responses to “my last cleanse of the year”


  1. 1 Leili November 29, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    COOKIE BAKING PARTY!

    I seriously need to join you on this cleanse. Yes, this is definitely my “thing” that needs attention right now.

  2. 2 Amanda November 29, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    Good for you, Michelle! And I’m very excited to hear about the cleanse support the studio will be offering. I’ve been planning on doing a cleanse in January and am a bit more encouraged knowing I won’t have to do it alone.

  3. 3 Jenna November 29, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    Good for you, Michelle. You will be so much lighter. I had questioned the role of social media (incl. my blog) for months, but during my struggles this fall, I completely stopped checking/writing on Twitter and my blog, and I used facebook only sometimes. I had no interest at all in twitter or my blog at that time, and I didn’t miss any of it. I knew I needed to focus my energy on reality. I’m glad that I took that break because now I use them less often and I came to see how little importance they have in my life.

    I second your idea of cookie parties (I make some weekly now!), tea, etc. I was just thinking yesterday that if I spent time calling people instead of commenting on their blogs/facebook status, that would be so much more human! :)

    Good luck! xo

  4. 4 Elizabeth November 29, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    Cookie baking! I need to buy flour; ’tis the season for pumpkin raisin cookies. (I am considering a no-sugar cleanse myself. I think I have been eating enough of it that it’s become more of a need than something truly enjoyed and I don’t like that. In January, I think.)

    I do love connecting with others over mail. That is the beauty of my little business; I am always well stocked with stamps now and can send mail whenever I want, rather than having it sit and sit and sit until I could manage to buy stamps.

    Enjoy your last cleanse!

  5. 5 Amy --- Just A Titch November 30, 2010 at 3:21 am

    I’m inviting myself to the cookie party. Also, blogging talk soon? I miss you.

  6. 6 Michelle Johnston November 30, 2010 at 5:06 am

    I will miss your witty comments, but it sounds like a great cleanse idea.

  7. 7 blogasana November 30, 2010 at 5:58 am

    @leili – cookie baking!!! good to know what your “thing” is. that’s step 1!

    @amanda – SO much better with a group. i’m doing it again too… will be great!

    @jenna – i hear you! coming back and feeling less/un- attached is a great thing. i hope to get there! yes, more human time, less computer time.

    @elizabeth – pumpkin raisin? mmmm. i do pumpkin chocolate chip. we’ll have to swap recipes. you are so good at the mail… and boy do i love my postcards from heaven =)

    @amy – you’re invited =) xo

    @michelle – we’ll just be witty together in class!!

  8. 8 Kelley M November 30, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    I’m so joining you on the social media cleanse for December. I’m thinking 15-20 minutes per day on the computer for email or bills, etc and that’s it. I’ll time myself and if I don’t get everything done then it CAN and WILL wait until the next allotted slot. I want to take my free time back.

    Also can’t wait to see about this cleanse offered in the studio in a group. Sounds great. Thanks again Michelle for your leadership.

  9. 9 Brittany December 1, 2010 at 4:23 am

    Michelle,

    I LOVE it! I don’t know if I’m that brave (as I type this my TweetDeck notification went off). I can’t wait to read about your progress.

    And, I’d love to take you up on that cup of tea to know what’s going on with you. :-)

  10. 10 blogasana December 1, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    @kelley – i like having the concrete boundary (10-15 minutes). otherwise it’s more like “just a minute” or “a little bit” which is so subjective and gets away easily. i support you!!!

    @brittany – baby steps! it isn’t this generalize unhealthy thing… maybe you have a good relationship with you. you can teach ME! send me an email on a cup of tea and we’ll make it a point!


  1. 1 Cutting Through the Crap: Can I Really Eliminate What Gets In My Own Way? « Teacher Goes Back to School Trackback on December 2, 2010 at 3:13 pm
  2. 2 Social Media Cleanse « BrittanyandTahn Trackback on April 10, 2011 at 4:15 am

How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Topics

Tweets


