two words

December 1 One Word.
Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?
(Author: Gwen Bell)

Reverb10 is underway and the first prompt has been offered.

One word for 2010.

Embrace.

To hold close in one’s arms, especially as an expression of affection.
To surround, enclose, include or contain as part of something broader.
To accept willingly or eagerly.

This has been a year of coming out of my shell, learning to care for myself, opening and sharing new parts of myself.

On the heels of offering my first Yoga Teacher Training program and traveling in January (leading a yoga retreat at Haramara, Mexico, and attending Havi‘s Destuckification Retreat—which by-the-by planted many seeds that would sprout and flower the rest of the year), I took February off. Resistance came in many forms, yet it was one of the most wonderful things I’ve done for myself (and I plan to do it again).

With the 5th anniversary of the studio approaching, I spent the spring on a studio re-design, re-brand. Trusted my gut, stepped out of comfort into new territory, and the results were fabulous (I only partly wish you could see the “before”).

I discovered blogging — as a writer and reader.

Started (and will have completed) second Teacher Training group.

I’m finding my voice and practicing kind, yet straight-forward truth. Identifying needs and wants.

Got a horse.

Found out some pictures of me were on the cover of the fall PrAna catalog and in the November issue of Yoga Journal (pages 66-69).

And now I’m Re-creating my blog and professional life as an individual.

In order to take any of these risks, it’s been necessary for me to begin to embrace the whole of who I am. As my teacher Mary says, warts and all.

*

My word for 2011:

Affluence.

A plentiful supply of material goods; wealth.
A great quantity; an abundance.
A flowing to or toward a point; afflux.

In general, I am not a money-motivated person. At the same time, I am opening to a space where not having money is not a badge of honor.

Where I will be no less a yogi, no less genuine and real if I accept life’s material comforts.

Where there is enough and richness is as much a state of mind as it is a bank account balance.

***
Wondering what this Reverb thing is? Maybe you’d like to join, even if you don’t write down your answers. Speaking of answers, what’s your word?
*
Definitions from www.thefreedictionary.com.
12 Responses to “two words”


  1. 1 Kate December 1, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    Affluence is a great thing to manifest — accepting material comforts is one thing, and sharing them is amazing too. Great words, looking forward!

  2. 2 Kelley M December 1, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    ac·cep·tance (k-sptns)
    n.
    1. The act or process of accepting.
    2. The state of being accepted or acceptable.

    Love you and your influence. Keep up the great work Michelle and hopefully I’ll see you tonight at yoga.

  3. 3 Grace Boyle December 1, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    Wonderful words!

    I think embrace is something that a lot of us could open up to and welcome into our lives.

    My word this year was sustainable! Next year, “Forward” :)

    PS. will you be hosting another yoga retreat? Sounds amazing!

  4. 4 bellerenee December 1, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    Two beautiful, inspirational words. May 2011 be affluent.

  5. 5 blogasana December 1, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    @kate – thanks! and back at you — this will be fun!

    @kel – love it. such an important thing; simple yet so hard. i’m with you!

    @grace – ‘sustainable’ – so cool. i love your site… are you doing reverb from somewhere else? and yes, this jan we’re going to belize… wanna come? =)

    @bellerenee – and for you! love your blog and nice to meet you!

  6. 6 Teacher Goes Back to School December 2, 2010 at 12:51 am

    embrace: so perfect for the biggest hugger i know.

    affluence: boo to scarcity.

  7. 7 Michelle Johnston December 2, 2010 at 1:08 am

    I concur – your words are both great. And you’re very deserving of some affluence. :)

    Here are mine:
    2010 – Adjustment
    2011 – Active

  8. 8 Emma December 2, 2010 at 2:15 am

    2010: Grounding. Traveled for almost 10 months, and then finally found a place to live and call home (we’ll see if it lasts, but…)

    2011: Create. So many projects, such an Aries (start a lot, finish some).

    I like affluence too. Glad you said it. And said it well.

  9. 9 Leili December 2, 2010 at 5:32 am

    Affluence! My first impression was “wow, that’s kind of provocative.”

    I haven’t thought about these too much, but since I’m going with first impressions:
    2010 – Maturity
    2011 – EnJOYment

  10. 10 Jena December 2, 2010 at 6:55 am

    Love this post, love love love your words. Truthful, beautiful, perfect!

  11. 11 blogasana December 2, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    @tams – i did think about “embrace” that way… you know i love to HUG.

    @michelle – i like your words! would love to hear the story behind them.

    @emma – i get a ‘grounding’ from your blog. love the idea of creation! thanks for sharing.

    @leili – right!? in fact, i super love the word “provocative” these days! it’s risky and out of the box. mmmm… maturity = house! tt! enJOYment = yum!

    @jena – thank you!!


  1. 1 In Case You Missed It Edition! Volume 8 « Teacher Goes Back to School Trackback on December 5, 2010 at 4:24 pm

How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

Topics

Tweets


