the gloves are off

Reverb10
December 2
Writing.
What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?
(Author: Leo Babauta)

My first internal response to today’s prompt was, “I answered this on Sunday.”

And yes, for me, social media, obsessive feed scanning, and stressing over the perfect tweet serve as wonderful distractions from writing and the rest of life. There’s fear, doubt, and some good old fashioned avoidance wrapped up in that package.

But there’s more.

Complaining.

Not something I do outwardly every day, but certainly the 8 Track (it’s that old) of wishing things differently affects my writing in other ways.

It keeps me from being with what is actually happening, from the fullness of reality where my senses are alive and inquisitive.  It drains me of energy, creativity, broad view, and curiosity.

Picture me: gloves on, dukes up, shadow boxing. Useful? No. Funny? Maybe.

And of course, even this can be turned on its head. If the battle is on and you are completely disconnected, then you write about that (à la David Whyte). It’s another way to take the gloves off. Turn toward the frustration, denial, anger, etc. and see it as it is. Write about it. But don’t fight with it. That’s just silly.

Hiro Boga offered some wise advice yesterday: Use your practice to grow the aspects of yourself that remain undeveloped. Be it my writing practice, my yoga practice, or my spiritual practice (all the same thing anyway), to stop complaining and embrace life will help me live in the “affluence” I seek.

***

Isn’t Reverb10 fun!? What habit keeps you from your thing? How can you “grow the aspects of yourself that remain undeveloped?”

And I love the Reverb badge. (I hope to have a badge to offer you soon!!)

5 Responses to “the gloves are off”


  1. 1 kateshrewsday December 2, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    Thought provoking. thanks :-) I do a million things which do not contribute directly to my writing, but most feed into it some way or another.
    There are a few – and in these I, too, include complaining – that need a bit of curtailing.
    Lovely post.

  2. 2 geanettef December 2, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    “Shadow Boxing”… pefect visual! Love the honesty!

    XOXO

  3. 3 Amy December 2, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    Really loving this whole gloves-boxing metaphor you’re rockin’, lady. It’s so true. Less complaining, more developing.

  4. 4 Kate December 2, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    I love the book “Writing Down the Bones” by Natalie Goldberg, which is all about writing as a practice. I’ve always been too ambitious with my morning practices, so now I’m starting small. Right now it’s about four poses of Yoga in and as I get out of bed. Eventually, writing will be added back in, when I can fit it comfortably.

    Anyway, I think the book is a fabulous resource for guidance to writing as a practice.

  5. 5 blogasana December 2, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    @kates – i like the idea that most things feed our writing. thanks for the comment =)

    @g – <3

    @amy – thanks, girl!

    @kate – great recommendation – thanks!


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

Topics

Tweets


