peas and cauliflower, please

There was such a nice response to my last soup recipe I thought I’d share another. Heck, it may become a regular feature.

Two things I know about myself around food:

1. I don’t make food from scratch unless it’s easy. That means simple, no fancy techniques or equipment, and fairly fast.

2. If there isn’t something healthy in the house, I’ll resort to what my husband eats.

Too bad we’re out of Pop Tarts. That would have rounded out the photo nicely.

A better choice

This recipe for cauliflower and pea soup is such a snap it’s a crime. I unloaded the dishwasher and rinsed some strawberries to freeze in the time it took to make it.

Here are the main ingredients:

2 bags frozen cauliflower (even though the bags are wasteful, these are biodegradable)
2 bags frozen peas
1 onion
fresh rosemary from the yard
also: spices of choice and bullion cube or broth

The how-to

Chop up the onion and saute in a stockpot with olive oil until golden. Add 2 cups water, a vegetable bullion cube (or just use broth) and both bags of cauliflower. Add spices—I used the rosemary (stem and all) as well as some ground coriander and a little turmeric. Cover and bring to boil, then simmer until cauliflower is soft. Blend.

.

.

Okay, I know I said no fancy tools. And you can use a regular hand mixer or a blender (leave pressure valve open on lid!!). But this hand blender has been totally worth the $49.95 in convenience. And it comes with bonus chopper attachment.
.

.

.

Once you have your base blended, add the two bags of peas. Cover and bring to simmer, cook until peas are soft (8-10 minutes).

Viola!

*

*Garnish is for show only. I’ve never garnished before. Maybe I’m growing.

Let me know if you make it, what you think, and if you have a favorite recipe!

18 Responses to “peas and cauliflower, please”


  1. 1 Leili Learning Life April 20, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    This post made me smile.

    I need one of those blender magic wands.

  2. 2 Madeleine April 20, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    I have made this about a half dozen times since you shared the recipe with me, and every time it is so delicious, and truly easy. Now I want a Dorito.

  3. 3 blogasana April 20, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    @leili – it is magic. i use mine often :)

    @mads – you crack me up!

  4. 4 Emma April 20, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    I am buying an immersion blender TODAY. or tomorrow.

    looking for recommendations… if you like yours, what is the model?

  5. 8 Cassidy Castleman April 21, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    What a great recipe, and your comment about the garnish made me giggle.

    Unfortunately, I don’t have any fancy gizmos like that so I’ll be missing out on this tasty soup.

    Here is one of my favorite recipes that we talked about the other day.

    Ingredients:
    1 head red cabbage
    1 head green cabbage
    salt

    1: quarter cabbage
    2: pressure cook for 3 minutes using cold-water release method
    3: add salt to taste

    lol :)

    • 9 blogasana April 21, 2011 at 11:51 pm

      cassidy, you are cracking me up. i just might have to get you a fancy gizmo for your birthday. in the meantime, you rock that cabbage salad :P

  6. 10 Nancy A April 22, 2011 at 12:15 am

    thank heavens i’m not the only yogi with Doritos in the cabinet. ;-)

    love the recipe, love the cuisnart wand and yes.. if it’s not fast and furious i’m not in. great post.

  7. 12 Elizabeth April 25, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    Speaking of Doritos .. which perhaps we weren’t, but now they are on my mind .. Kettle Chips has a Ranch flavor that tastes just like Cool Ranch Doritos (which I loved but didn’t buy). And at the same time I discovered them, I learned that Kettle Chips are local. I suspect there will be lots more chips in my future.

  8. 14 Ryan April 28, 2011 at 12:20 am

    I’m making this tonight. I sauteed the onion with 1 Tbs of curry powder, little salt and pepper to really get the flavors going. And added the cauliflower to the mix before adding the broth.

    I threw in some leftover ham from Easter and a big big bunch of chopped kale–because you can never have enough leafy greens.

    Needed a bit more broth, but tastes lovely!

    • 15 Ryan April 28, 2011 at 1:09 am

      One thing I’d change to my version. Boil the kale with the cauliflower and add more broth to make up for added veg. Then blend it all together. It would help keep the smooth texture of the soup while still upping the ante of the leafy green goodness.

    • 16 blogasana April 28, 2011 at 3:30 pm

      oh holy easter ham, you are a CHEF! kudos on the creativity and resourcefulness. sounds delish…. xo

  9. 17 Kelley M April 30, 2011 at 4:41 am

    I cook all the time and it’s fancy baby. I have a sneaking suspicion that the extra 20 pounds I’ve gained in the past year or so is from all these rich, savory, meaty, chocolatey, creamy, buttery goodies coming from my kitchen.

    Do I have a favorite. Yeah, variety. I love it all and it’s fun to share in the experience of menu planning, shopping, cooking and eating with my sweet Tony who loves it too.

    Keep up the great work Michelle. Just some handy tools, techniques and desire are all it takes to crank out the yummers.

  10. 18 Cyndra April 30, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    Are you sure our husbands are not related? Although my picture would have had to include bacon. Can’t wait to try the recipe!


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Topics

Tweets


