bye bye, princess

I love to swim. Love to swim.

But when I have the opportunity at a pool I often do not swim because it’s dark by the time I’m up to my waist. I inch in, squealing and stalling because it’s so cold.

Additionally, I do not swim in open water.

Given the place and way I grew up, that sounds a little crazy. Mine was a country-kind-of-childhood — very simple and rural.  Our vacations consisted of packing the horses into a lake to camp and fish… and swim.

But my vivid imagination and a teenage water skiing experience at Trinity Lake left me unwilling to look down those long light rays into dark and unknown depths ever again.

Until…

Last week two friends and I were on retreat with our teacher, Mary Paffard, in Ukiah, California. It was a truly special week of 1st Chakra work, amazing food, and friendship.

It was also a week of trying new things.

The first day we were at the pool at Vichy Springs (highly recommend) and I decided to do a cannonball.

The second day there I dove in.

Now, I know that doesn’t sound like a big deal, but for a wuss like me it is. When I texted my husband about it he wrote back, “You got your head wet????”

I knew then I had to do something every day that was new or made me uncomfortable.

Swimming in open water was inevitable.

Hello, fear.

Fear is a funny creature and will close in gradually when unaddressed. (And then suddenly you’re a princess!)

So when something is scary and you don’t want to do it by yourself…

best to do it first with friends.

Thanks to my besties, Kim and Madeleine, for a week that can be described only by this photo.

8 Responses to “bye bye, princess”


  1. 1 melissa June 28, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    Woo hoo! That is so awesome and looks absolutely gorgeous out there. I can attest to it getting dark before you could get fully into the pool : ) Congrats on stepping out from the fear.

  2. 2 Kelley M June 28, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    You are so perfect.

  3. 5 Elizabeth July 4, 2011 at 1:07 am

    Woo-hoo! I can just feel the fun!

    When I was younger, I was much braver about jumping off things into water. Except for the time I jumped off a high set of pilings into the canal and someone yelled something about fish and then I started to imagine scaly things touching my legs.

  4. 6 Keleigh July 6, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    <3 <3 <3

  5. 7 Keleigh July 6, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    <3 <3 <3


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

Topics

Tweets


