waiting wanting getting

In my practice of disappointing people (which I’m pleased to report I’m getting quite good at), there are many things that get nudged to the next day’s get-to-do list. My typical style is fit it all in, but I’ve been practicing gentleness in my schedule, and creating space means some things get left out or moved over.

I was looking through an old journal today and came across notes from a workshop I took with local teacher and poet Alexa Mergen. I vaguely remember her talking about a reframe for the word procrastination.

Procrastinate: to delay, to defer
Latin, crastinase: tomorrow

Why do the things we put off have to be things we dread? Maybe sometimes waiting makes wanting which makes getting all the sweeter.

We made a list of Things Worth Waiting For. Here’s mine:

downward facing dog
chai tea
a hug
a favorite song
dreams
a cat on my lap
alone time
clean fresh sheets
a bath
sparkles
christmas music
scarf and beanie weather
a look from my dog
a pause
honesty
jumping in the water
kindness
lightning and thunder
quiet
rain
toast
until
warmth
a word that fits perfectly

Even though this list is from 2007 or so, it rings pretty true. Today I would add: the smell of Cowboy‘s coat, savasana, fresh herbs, and naps.

What about you? What’s worth waiting for?

3 Responses to “waiting wanting getting”


  1. 1 Mel July 6, 2011 at 12:22 am

    This is Lovely Michelle, Thank you.
    Tea…Scandinavia…understanding…security (not the financial kind)…live music…a new journal without lines (because apparently, I find them stifling)…a new knitting project… And I absolutely second alone time, dreams, quiet, honesty, practically the whole list.

  2. 3 Leili Learning Life July 8, 2011 at 1:02 am

    Oh my goodness Michelle, what a wonderful way of looking at putting things off on purpose! I’m starting a list of Things Worth Waiting For:

    pizza fresh from the oven
    warm summer nights
    a soak in the tub
    the cat to come over and lay on my tummy
    catching up with a good friend
    tea

    Fabulous. Thank you.


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

Topics

Tweets


