no beginning, no end. come see my new site!

A couple of years ago I took a workshop on how to deal with holiday stress. The teacher talked about how there is no beginning and there is no end.

As in:

You finally resolved all the issues with your mother and you’ll never fight again.
This will be the start of peaceful holidays because you’ve figured it all out.

Neither of those things are true. We are never “done” with an issue. And things that seem to “start” actually began long ago.

****

Almost two years ago the seed for a new writing idea, a new website, a new direction was planted.

One year ago the idea and site started growing into shape and form.

The site has been complete for almost ten months. I set launch dates which passed by. I tinkered with the copy and design. I even talked about it on Blogasana. Still, no launch.

But folks,

today I am launching.

Here’s the deal:

The site will never be “done.”  Or perfect, or whatever unreal idea I have of how it should be. By launching with it incomplete as it is, I can get a feel for what final accessories would suit us best. The main pieces are here and now (the fun part) you get to check back to watch us try on different details.

The ideas and purpose of the site will also continually evolve. Right now I have planned yoga tip videos, poetry breaks, recipes, free audio classes and meditation and, like Blogasana, writings on life and teaching. You’ll let me know what sticks (please!) and the rest will fall away.

It’s already started. There comes a point when the thing (the idea, the shift in me, and concretely a new website) has already happened, which means the final step (actually launching) isn’t the beginning. This feels reassuring.

It doesn’t need a drumroll. I mean, I’m excited about this new thing, but it doesn’t have to be all fireworks and caviar. I don’t eat caviar anyway. And although I enjoy sparkles, I don’t need to put a lot of pressure on myself by making this a bigger deal than it is (which is a new place to do what I’ve already been doing).

****

I do want you to come over and celebrate with me.

Even though I’m not completely moved in…

And even though I’ll be moving to http://www.lovewastingtime.com (rather than the wordpress site) in the next few days…

And even though it’s not a big deal…

I still want you to come over, check it out and let me know what you think!

Love Wasting Time — ’cause Lord knows we aren’t very good at that.

Come on, check it out!!

.

8 Responses to “no beginning, no end. come see my new site!”


  1. 1 madyoga October 3, 2011 at 11:27 pm

    (*tiny firework*)

    (*smidge of caviar – some of us do like it – *)

    So excited for your new venture!

    I also like your attitude towards evolution. I heard recently about the advantage of putting out products BEFORE they’re done, for just that reason. You can’t know how things will get used until they get…used.

    Just like nothing begins or ends, we don’t create anything alone.

    congrats!

  2. 3 Kim October 4, 2011 at 1:48 am

    I am drumrolling in my heart. This statement feels so true…”We are never “done” with an issue. And things that seem to “start” actually began long ago.” I vote we change the word issue to life. ;) So glad to be in it with access to your writings, insights, recipes, asana practice, meditations, energy, heart.

  3. 5 Brittany October 4, 2011 at 2:17 am

    SO excited for you!!!

    GREAT site!!

  4. 7 cindy October 4, 2011 at 9:42 pm

    love the new site, it’s beautiful!!

    your post was perfect timing for me. i too have been playing around with my website for months (okay maybe more like a year!) and like you have set many launch dates all of which have passed. you’ve inspired me! you’ve inspired me to stop waiting until i can make my site “perfect” and instead to move forward. thanks! :)

    • 8 blogasana October 5, 2011 at 4:49 pm

      go cindy!!! just put it out there and then go from there. actually doing it didn’t feel like nearly as big of a deal as my year of stressing about doing it. i look forward to seeing your new site-in-progress :)


How about you?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

Topics

Tweets


